Honor Your Nurse Leaders and Health Equity Innovators

CFAR | May 04, 2018

You have until May 14 to submit a nomination for the Joan Anne McHugh Award for Leadership in LTSS Nursing, and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Award for Health Equity.

Are you looking for a way to acknowledge an outstanding Director of Nursing (DON) or Assistant Director of Nursing (ADON) in your organization?

Do members of your team deserve a pat on the back for successfully implementing a systems-change approach to reducing health disparities and improving health equity in your community?

If you answered “yes” to either of these questions, you have until May 14 to submit a nomination for one of these annual awards:

The Joan Anne McHugh Award for Leadership in LTSS Nursing recognizes a DON or ADON who creates a supportive and engaged workplace environment by displaying excellent leadership skills while managing nursing and frontline staff. Winner of the award receives $1,000 to be used for professional development, and a trip to the LeadingAge Annual Meeting and Expo, which takes place Oct. 28-31, 2018 in Philadelphia.

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Award for Health Equity recognizes an individual or a team of 2 individuals who have successfully implemented a systems-change approach to reducing health disparities. This award carries a $3,000 prize.

May 14 is the deadline to complete an online nomination for each award.

Joan Anne McHugh Award

The Joan Anne McHugh Award for Leadership in Long-Term Services and Supports (LTSS) Nursing will be awarded to a DON or ADON who:

  • Demonstrates creative and innovative approaches to leadership in LTSS nursing;
  • Values and respects all levels of professional caregivers, and models and promotes this attitude among peers;
  • Facilitates meaningful collaboration among interdisciplinary team members;
  • Creates or implements practices at the organization to improve the workplace environment and support nursing and frontline staff;
  • Is instrumental in improving the recruitment and retention of the nursing and frontline staff; and
  • Assists caregivers in understanding their relationship to the organization’s mission and goals.

Nominating organizations will be asked to submit a description of the nominee, a letter describing how the nominee meets the award’s selection criteria, 2 letters of recommendation, and a letter from the nominee.

For more information about the McHugh Award, email Natasha Bryant, senior research associate at LeadingAge, or call 202-508-1214.

You can also read about Joan Anne McHugh, for whom the McHugh Award is named, or about Bahaa Barsoum, R.N., winner of the 2017 McHugh Award.

RWJF Award for Health Equity

This is the second year that LeadingAge has presented the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Award for Health Equity.

Nominees will be considered for the award if they have successfully implemented a systems-change approach to reducing health disparities within the past 2 years. The following types of programs could qualify an individual or team of 2 individuals for the award.

A program might increase an older person’s access to formal health care services, like primary care. This could be accomplished through a variety of avenues, such as helping older adults:

  • Access transportation to health offices and clinics,
  • Navigate the health care or insurance system,
  • Understand a doctor’s orders, or
  • Take steps to manage a chronic disease.

The program might collaborate with community partners to:

  • Address social factors, like lack of access to healthy foods, that could be standing in the way of better health for older adults;
  • Reduce isolation that often leads to physical and mental health issues;
  • Address cultural barriers to using needed physical or mental health services;
  • Improve access to physical fitness activities that can help older adults maintain or improve physical function;
  • Enhance the quality, safety, and accessibility of housing;
  • Ensure that the needs of vulnerable older adults are considered during local conversations about community planning or public health.

The program must demonstrate success in changing systems. This means that the program should be designed to help improve systems for promoting good health. To accomplish this goal, the program should:

  • Involve community partners or cross-sector collaboration,
  • Lead to sustainable change, and
  • Have the potential to be adopted and scaled.

The Award for Health Equity is part of RWJF’s efforts to build a national Culture of Health that improves lives and reduces health disparities by improving public safety, employment, housing, and education system. The work of the nominee should align with this vision.

For more information about the Award for Health Equity, contact Alisha Sanders, director of housing and services policy at LeadingAge, or call 202-508-1211.

You can also read an article about the award, published by LeadingAge magazine in 2017, or a profile of Sarah Schoeder and Kate West, who won the RWJF Award for Health Equity in 2017.

Start Working on Your Nomination Today

LeadingAge member organizations can use the online application form to nominate individuals for both the McHugh Award and the RWJF Award for Health Equity. Deadline for nominations is May 14.